Local profile – Shane Scrutton

I’ve known Shane for a number of years now and we are connected in numerous different ways.  Despite being more of a sports person, Shane is also pretty up there with his music knowledge as I discovered one year when we were on the same table at a music trivia night!  He is a man of many talents…and I’m lucky to be doing a little bit of consulting on the side for such a terrific person and his business.  He’s also very modest in that he is still competing at a Masters level in tennis.  Read on for more about Shane…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Name: Shane Scrutton

Occupation: Tennis Coach

Lives/works: Heidelberg/East Ivanhoe

How long have you lived here? 10 yearsOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Describe yourself/what you do: I have been the Club Coach at Eaglemont Tennis Club since 2002. I have been involved in tennis for over 35 years, having played tennis on a US college scholarship and professionally all over the world as well as being a qualified secondary teacher with a Journalism degree. I enjoy coaching players of all ages and standards and working with my Yarra Tennis coaching team to get the best out of every student and make the game of tennis as fun as possible. I also still enjoy playing competitively at a high level so I can coach and challenge the club’s top juniors.

Best thing(s) about living/working in Melbourne’s north-east: As an active sports person I’m very lucky to live close to where I work and enjoy the green parklands of Yarra Flats. I have enjoyed developing some great relationships through my coaching program and with the local community. Heidelberg has a very rare combination of parklands and space while being so close to the city – which is probably why it’s become so popular and busy!

For more information:

Website: yarratennis.com.au

Facebook: Yarra Tennis Coaching

Author: missrosannablog

I'm a marketer, writer, blogger and creative type interested in all things art and culture in the north-eastern suburbs of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia ranging from inner city to outer suburbia and beyond.

Leave a Reply

