The island of Equanimity

I’m wishing I was there at the moment.  Mr Rosanna and I have had a lot of change over the past year with jobs, juggling work and family life and a new transition again in the past month with him starting a new job after many years in his old one.  He was lucky enough to have time at home with our children last year – an opportunity not all Dads get – as well as the chance to step back and work out where to from here.  I think it’s something women get to do if they have children and I’ve seen many of my peers see life very differently after having children and contemplate whether they return to their old job (if they can) or try something completely new and different.  Necessity is the mother of all invention.IMG_5597

When change is thrust upon you, it can come as a shock and I’m reeling from changes in my workplace this week.  I’ve known change was coming but the nature of it has still been a surprise and it’s taken a little while for my emotions to catch up.  We are all human and it’s hard not to take things personally as much as I know that it’s only my ego that’s hurting at the moment!  The ability to remain calm and composed is a real skill and considered one of the sublime states of Buddhism, which teaches you to take a step back, hold your emotions in your arms and rock them like a baby so that you can maintain equilibrium – easy to know in theory but much harder to practise in reality…It’s also the end of term and I’m grateful that Easter is coming up soon.IMG_5619

It’s got cold and wet, particularly further up north, and daylight savings comes to an end this weekend, which always makes me feel a bit mellow although I have ‘winter’ friends who love being able to dress up in layers once the weather turns.  The Heide Makers Market is on tomorrow (April Fool’s Day!) and if you haven’t been, this will be the last one for the season.  My friend, ceramic artist Lene Kuhl Jakobsen has had a stall there selling these gorgeous hand made plant pots – this one is now adorning my desk at work and it makes me happy to see it there every day when I come into the office.

turbulence
Image via www.banyule.vic.gov.au

Given my current feeling, the aptly named Turbulence exhibition has opened at Hatch Contemporary Arts Space in Ivanhoe and is a response to global climate change and environmental sustainability.  It features work by Banyule-based artists from the Textile Art Community, sound artist Alice Bennett and environmental artist Felicity Gordon.

Have a wonderful weekend – I’m hoping to find my inner calm over the next few days.

Author: missrosannablog

I'm a marketer, writer, blogger and creative type interested in all things art and culture in the north-eastern suburbs of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia ranging from inner city to outer suburbia and beyond.

Leave a Reply

